Bible, Books, and Busyness
Bible, Books, and Busyness Podcast
It was the day Nakia cried
0:00
-1:31

It was the day Nakia cried

An audio poem

I was in elementary
And it was time to learn black history
We heard about Rosa and we wrote about King
We read about Malcolm and we learned about Ali

But on the day we listened to The Dream 
We also watched something I had not seen
This film is now in my memory
And will forever last
Though at the time, what was on display 
I could not quite grasp

I saw my people being beaten and hoses being used
I saw children screaming and mothers crying too
I saw my people being spit on and dogs chasing them down
I saw a little girl trying to walk to school while being cursed
By an entire town

And as I watched this film, I was numb, and it wasn’t quite clear
That it was because of those who suffered that I am now here

While I sat afterward, processing what I’d seen
I saw Nakia frozen at her desk, her tears a silent stream
I could not articulate the pain I felt when I looked into her eyes
But it was at that moment  I understood
It was the day Nakia cried

Discussion about this podcast

Bible, Books, and Busyness
Bible, Books, and Busyness Podcast
Making connections between faith, art, culture, and wellness